My Home Away from Home Away from Home

Little did I know when I packed up my apartment I had lived in for the past 4 years in Dallas at the end of May last year that this next year would be one of so much movement. Yes, I knew I would be traveling, going to various training courses, and visiting friends & family for several months before moving overseas, but I definitely was not thinking I would be “moving” as much as I have. From Texas to Arkansas to Wisconsin to Texas to Colorado to Texas to Oklahoma to Kansas to Arkansas to Texas and a few more trips in there it was busy, and it was time well spent. I am thankful to have had time to make many memories and spend time with those that I love.

Leaving the states at the end of October, I was ready to be able to settle & start this adventure the Lord has me on in Doro. Thankfully, He let me do that. I got 6 wonderful weeks in Doro before our evacuation right before Christmas. Some would say that I didn’t have time to really get settled, but setting up my tukul with my roomie in Doro was the most settled I had the opportunity to be in 6 months, and the place I began to call home. Even though I have only had the opportunity to live there for 6 weeks, it was becoming home. I loved meeting the people I had been praying for, worshipping with new believers, going to sleep hearing the crickets, seeing the stars at night, and language lessons with B & Z.

So now it is 5 weeks post evacuation, 5 weeks in a new place, 5 weeks in my home away from home away from home: Nairobi. Clearly, this was not part of my plans, but the Lord knew this would happen & He still let me come to Africa. He still let me join a wonderful team & be part of this journey of “uncertain” plans with our certain God. He knows, so I don’t have to.

Until then, we wait. We seek Him, and ask what He has for the future. We devote ourselves to prayer for our friends in South Sudan. We come together with others in the same situation & make use of our time learning language with our Sudanese language helper. We spend time together. Our team had the opportunity to spend a few days in our annual team conference learning, worshipping, fellowshipping, and growing together. It was such a sweet time in the midst of uncertainty. We remember that this world is not our home—not Dallas, not Doro, not Nairobi, not wherever else He might send us.

We live in light of eternity and yearn for our heavenly home when we will gather with every tribe, tongue, and nation, worshipping at the feet of Jesus. We “fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfector of our faith, who for the joy set before him endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God” (Heb. 12:2).  We believe the words of Joshua 1 that say “no one will be able to stand up against you all the days of your life. As I was with Moses, so I will be with you; I will never leave you nor forsake you…have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be terrified; do not be discouraged, for the Lord you God will be with you wherever you go” (5,9). 

Dislcaimer: I wrote this post a few weeks ago & could not get it to load. More updates coming soon.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

