Steady On

I haven’t posted in a while, as there isn’t too much to share. I am still in language school and steadily making progress with Arabic. At least 6-8 hours of my day are completely in Arabic. The more I learn, the more I realize I don’t know. Thankfully, most of the time this pushes me to study and practice more.

He has been faithful this year to keep my focus on Him and language. I love being a nurse. I love taking care of patients. I miss this aspect of life. I am excited to get to Doro and start working as an NP in the clinic. But, I know this language season has a purpose, and I want to make the most of it. So, I’m pushing forward with the next few months of study and want to finish well.

“Contentment is not waiting for the circumstance to change, it is choosing to control our attitude when we can’t control our circumstances.” –B. McConnaghey

As much as I’m sure a picture of my daily flash cards or homework would interest you, I thought I’d share some pictures from our neighborhood and Ramadan decorations. During Ramadan, I was able to learn a lot about how it is celebrated here and share in some of the festivities with neighbors.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Steady On

  1. Natosha Griffin says:

    Thinking of you and lifting you up tonight.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. Ackley, Dick says:

    Thanks for your letter, Ruth. I added your quote about contentment to my collection of good quotes. I’m so proud of you for hanging in there in learning this difficult language. We continue to pray for peace in South Sudan!

    We’re about to start another SIMStart today. One of the young ladies put on their application for their first contact with SIM, Ruth Burkes! Very Cool! I look forward to meeting Julie Cosby. Also Kara Waters will be here from The Village Church. Do you know her?

    You remain in my prayers, my friend. When does your school end? (Notice I didn’t ask when your study of Arabic will end, ha!)

    Prayerfully,

    Dick

Leave a Reply

