The Nubian Ladies

Here in Doro I attend the Nubian church. The great thing about this church is that it really isn’t just a Nubian church. It is filled with Uduk, JumJum, Mabaan, Nubian, and believers from other tribes. Some of my dearest friends are the ladies that attend this church. Every week we spend time together for Bible study or doing outreach in the camps. A lot of times we are doing what we can to encourage these women in hard times. There have been many a conversation over coffee, tea, and waiting while someone prepares the coffee or tea about life and God. I am thankful for the strength these women portray day in and day out despite difficult marriages, struggling finances to provide clothing and school supplies, and walking through each day with a smile and joy.

On my porch after a goodbye party

On my porch after a goodbye party

My sweet friend, Joy preparing cofee

My sweet friend, Joy preparing the coffee beans

Coffee time

Coffee time

Peanuts in your coffee...so good and drowns out the strong ginger aftertaste (i.e. burning)

Peanuts in your coffee…so good and drowns out the strong ginger aftertaste (i.e. burning)

Please pray for them–that they would stay strong in their faith and continue to persevere through difficult circumstances. Pray that they would be able to live out their faith and share with others. Pray for wisdom for myself, that I would be able to love, encourage, and walk through life well with them.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Nubian Ladies

  1. Kay C Pemberton says:

    Ruth Driving home from Missouri today. I took A break to read this post. My heart is so full for these women. If you think of something my group can do to treat them let me know. Maybe even personal notes in their name? Or would translation b too difficult. Love you

    Sent from my iPhone Kay Carol

    >

Leave a Reply

